PDA

View Full Version : replacing motor mounts

issanni
07-17-2006, 08:05 PM
I'm fairly new to the Mustang scene. This might be a stupid question, but I did a few searches and didn't come up with anything.

How difficult is it to replace the motor mounts? Can it be done fairly easily with the engine in the car? I assume for a street car either OEM or Poly mounts are the way to go.

Thanks.

H/C/I Stang
07-17-2006, 09:33 PM
Naturally you will have to lift the engine off of the mounts but you can replace them without pulling the engine out of the car.

Done it...TWICE :x

joesgt281
07-19-2006, 12:51 PM
I've only done it on an SN95 but I think it's similar to a Fox.
You can support the motor with a floor jack and board under your oil pan.

issanni
07-20-2006, 08:51 AM
I'm always a little leary of supporting any engine by the oil pan..... :argh: but I guess if that's what it takes..... :doh:

White90GT
07-20-2006, 09:21 AM
Yeah what they said. A little more detail:
Jack the car up just enough for you to slide under and work.
Support on jackstands or put something under the front wheels.
Unbolt the motor mounts from the k-member and if you can easily get to the bolts on the block at this point, go ahead and loosen them up.
Unbolt the transmission mount from the crossmember.
Get a peice of 2"x4" or 2"x6" wood about 1.5 to 2 feet long. Put it on the jack and center it under the bell housing with the board exending under the engine oil pan and transmission pan.
Jack up slowly being sure you're not denting anything and that it is staying fairly even as you lift. Watch the mounts to see when they are clear enough to unbolt and replace.
Replace and reverse procedure..

issanni
07-20-2006, 10:10 AM
Thanks all.

2001convSVT
07-21-2006, 09:35 AM
White90GT,

Thanks for the details. :D

tx heat
07-24-2006, 07:29 AM
or u can jack up the motor from the crank pulley. Won't hurt it, just make sure the motor is jacked up evenly.

issanni
07-24-2006, 09:18 AM